Quick links:
 Latest Team Rankings
 Free Rivals Alerts
 Member Services
ShopMobileRadio RSSRivals.com Yahoo! Sports

November 20, 2009

Nominees for U.S. Army POY Award announced

MORE: Army All-American Bowl selection tour | Army AA announcement gallery | Army AA Rosters

The U.S. Army All-American Bowl Selection Committee has nominated 16 student-athletes for the prestigious 2010 U.S. Army Player of the Year Award, considered high school football's highest honor. The U.S. Army Player of the Year award is given to the nation's most outstanding senior high school football player participating in the U.S. Army All-American Bowl.

The selection process began this fall as players were evaluated by coaches from around the country and the U.S. Army All-American Bowl Selection Committee. The 2010 U.S. Army Player of the Year Nominees are (in alphabetical order):
Keenan AllenDB Greensboro, N.C.
Dillon BaxterRB San Diego, Calif.
Brennan ClayRB San Diego, Calif.
Michael DyerRB Little Rock, Ark.
Sharrif FloydDL Philadelphia, Pa.
Jake HeapsQB Sammamish, Wash.
Seantrel HendersonOL St. Paul, Minn.
Malcolm JonesRB Westlake Village, Calif.
Lamarcus JoynerDB Fort Lauderdale, Fla.
Marcus LattimoreRB Duncan, S.C.
Ronald PowellDL Moreno Valley, Calif.
Kyle PraterWR Hillside, Ill.
Silas ReddRB Stamford, Conn.
Lache SeastrunkRB Temple, Texas
Phillip SimsQB Chesapeake, Va.
Robert WoodsWR/DB Gardena, Calif.
The six finalists for the award will be announced on December 2, 2009. The U.S. Army Player of the Year will be crowned during the U.S. Army Awards Dinner on January 9, 2010, in San Antonio, where the winner will be presented with the Ken Hall Trophy, modeled after Ken "Sugar Land Express" Hall, high school football's all-time leading rusher.

"Every U.S. Army All-American reflects the characteristics found in the Army Strong Soldier and possesses a mental, emotional and physical strength like no other," said Col. Derik Crotts, Director, Marketing and Outreach, U.S. Army Accessions Command. "These 16 finalists have distinguished themselves even further through their on-field leadership. We are proud to recognize them as U.S. Army Player of the Year Award nominees."

Past U.S. Army Player of the Year winners include: 2001-Kevin Jones (Chicago Bears); 2002-Lorenzo Booker (Miami Dolphins); 2003-Chris Leak (Montreal Alouettes); 2004-Adrian Peterson (Minnesota Vikings); 2005-Ryan Perrilloux (Jacksonville State); 2006-Mitch Mustain (USC); 2007-Jimmy Clausen (Notre Dame), 2008-Terrelle Pryor (Ohio State), and 2009-Bryce Brown (Tennessee).

The U.S. Army All-American Bowl, celebrating its 10th anniversary, is the nation's premier high school football game, serving as the preeminent launching pad for America's future college and NFL stars. Adrian Peterson, Reggie Bush, Mark Sanchez, Vince Young, and Tim Tebow all made their national debuts as U.S. Army All-Americans.

Last year the U.S. Army All-American Bowl drew more than 32,000 fans to the game at the Alamodome along with being the most watched sporting event on television over the weekend, besides the NFL Playoffs.

Florida NEWS


Latest Headlines:

Rivals.com is your source for: College Football | Football Recruiting | College Basketball | Basketball Recruiting | College Baseball | High School | College Merchandise
Site-specific editorial/photos InsidetheGators.com. All rights reserved. This website is an officially and independently operated source of news and information not affiliated with any school or team.
About | Advertise with Us | Contact | Privacy Policy | About our Ads | Terms of Service | Copyright/IP policy | Yahoo! Sports - NBC Sports Network

Statistical information 2014 STATS LLC All Rights Reserved.