Quick links:
 Latest Team Rankings
 Free Rivals Alerts
 Member Services
ShopMobileRadio RSSRivals.com Yahoo! Sports

December 5, 2011

Jones, Brown named Team MVPs

Chapel Hill, N.C. ------ University of North Carolina wide receiver Dwight Jones and linebacker Zach Brown were named the Tar Heels' Most Valuable Players at the 2011 senior football banquet Sunday evening.

Jones, who led the ACC in receiving touchdowns (11) and total receptions (79), finished the regular season with 1,119 yards and averaged 93.2 yards per game. His 79 receptions are the seventh-highest single-season total in ACC history. A native of Burlington, N.C., Jones was named second-team All-ACC.

Brown registered a team-best 91 tackles, including 11.5 tackles for losses and 5.5 sacks. A native ofColumbia, Md., he also had two interceptions, broke up four passes and tied with Coples with three forced fumbles. He was named ACC Linebacker of the Week in the win over Wake Forest.



--- Athletic Director's Scholar-Athlete Award: Pete Mangum
--- Spirit of Service Award (Community Service Award): Jonathan Cooper
--- William Rand Kenan, Jr. Award - Outstanding Achievement, Academics, Athletics, Leadership:Curtis Byrd
--- James A. Gray and James A. Gray, Jr Football Manager's Award: Dino Cauteruccio
--- Jason BrownAward - Most Improved Strength & Conditioning:Kareem Martin
--- Moyer Gray Smith Award - Most Improved Player: Jordan Nix
--- Morris Mason Award - Outstanding Lifter:Matt Merletti
--- Steve Streater Award - Perseverance in the face of Adversity:Carl Gaskins
---David ThorntonAward - Outstanding Scout Team Player:Josh Bridges
--- Jeffrey Cowell Memorial Award - Outstanding First-Year Player:Bryn Renner (offense), Sylvester Williams (defense)
--- John Lacey Rehabilitation Award:Giovani Bernard
--- Bob Osterneck Memorial Award - Most Team Spirit:Matt Merletti
--- Jack Sapp Memorial Award - Best All-Around Senior:Cam Holland


--- Charlie Justice Award - Outstanding Contribution: Kevin Reddick
--- Jeffrey Cowell Memorial Award - Outstanding Newcomer: Sylvester Williams
--- William Fuller Award - Outstanding Defensive Lineman:Tydreke Powell
--- George Barclay Award - Outstanding Linebacker:Zach Brown
--- Cary Boshamer Award - Outstanding Defensive Back:Charles Brown
--- Andy Bershak - Outstanding Defensive End:Quinton Coples


--- Greg Poole Award - Outstanding Special Teams Player:Pete Mangum


--- Charlie Justice Award - Outstanding Contribution:Erik Highsmith
--- Jeffrey Cowell Memorial Award - Outstanding Newcomer:Bryn Renner
--- Bill Arnold Memorial Award - Outstanding Offensive Lineman:James Hurst
--- Louis Graves Award - Outstanding Offensive Back:Giovani Bernard
--- Art Weiner Award - Outstanding Receiver:Dwight Jones


--- James Sutherland Award - Team Captains:Kevin Reddick (defense), Casey Barth (special teams), Matt Merletti (special teams), Cam Holland (offense)
--- E. Carrington Smith Award - Most Valuable Player Offense:Dwight Jones
--- E. Carrington Smith Award - Most Valuable Player Defense:Zach Brown

Florida NEWS


Latest Headlines:

Rivals.com is your source for: College Football | Football Recruiting | College Basketball | Basketball Recruiting | College Baseball | High School | College Merchandise
Site-specific editorial/photos InsidetheGators.com. All rights reserved. This website is an officially and independently operated source of news and information not affiliated with any school or team.
About | Advertise with Us | Contact | Privacy Policy | About our Ads | Terms of Service | Copyright/IP policy | Yahoo! Sports - NBC Sports Network

Statistical information 2014 STATS LLC All Rights Reserved.